Hello March!

This blog update is just to fill you in on the potentially awesome things you could do in New York when you aren’t allowed to work, or at least, this is what I did in the first week of March:

Monday – I ran over Brooklyn bridge… again! (still new to me) AND I made a video about it. And I had another Spanish class. I also discovered TWO SHELVES of oboe books in the Brooklyn Public Library!!!

Tuesday – I visited the OGS (Office of Global Services at NYU) told me I am able to do internships on my F-2 visa as long as I recieve absolutely NO compensation… 😀 To celebrate, I went to the Transport museum (see pictures!) and in the evening I went to a Redeemer group and met lots of lovely new people from church.

 

Wednesday – I went to the Metropolitan Museum, did a tour about “Fashion in Art” and I also listened a free lecture about “Drawing for Portraits” at the Frick museum.

Thursday – I officially started helping out at Aphrochic! 😀

Friday – I went to LeFriday-3-march.gifnox Hill House to discuss my volunteer work for their annual Spring Gala, I also did a tour at MoMA about Mrs. Bloch-Bauer (she took her husband’s surname and added it to hers and he also did the same, extremely modern for 1900’s) and then I watched Chicken Run in the very nice MoMA cinema’s! I had a late lunch and went to the New York Historical Society, a VERY cool museum next to the Museum of Natural History. We also decided to watch the free film the had on show and we watched Alfred Hitchcock’s Vertigo.

Saturday – I had another 8am run with the PPTC (Prospect Park Track Club) and then I paid my $25 and became an official member! We had some lunch and went to the NYU BOBST library.

Sunday – We went to see Louie Giglio (first only on a screen fro New Jersey and then in the 5pm we saw him LIVE after rushing from Irving Plaza to the Times Square service, I have to yay for the Q-train, it’s really quick) at Hillsong and did washing and had some tea and cake with our friend Uma. Just something interesting I saw on Sunday as well, when you take the Q train from Brooklyn, be sure to sit on the left hand side (left if you look to the front a.k.a. the direction the train is going in) and look out for subway art!( Click here for some more background, the video isn’t my own but it shows it well enough until you can come here to 1.visit me and 2.experience it for yourself 🙂 ).

 

Author: oliviandagogy

Graphic designer, artist, runner and music fanatic, currently exploring New York while creating ways in which to see the world as a place of wonder.

One thought on “Hello March!”

  1. haha, ek wens ek kon 1.by jou komkuier en 2.die cool subway art sien! Dis cool dat daar so baie free movies oral wys!

    Like

Leave a comment